RA-Bowtie

Playing MKV's and DTS

19 posts in this topic

G'day all,

I'm kinda new to all of this, so please forgive my ignorance.

Here's what I'm trying to do ....

I'm going to be building a house in the next 12 months and I'm going to have a "proper" home theatre.

Projector with 120" screen, blah, blah. I'd like to watch the movies in 1080P

I have a large Blu-Ray collection, that I'd like to rip and store on a NAS. I'll have a computer setup (in the next room) to run the NAS and I'll just use that for doing the ripping ..... 

Here's the bits that I kinda figured out.

I'll use Make MKV to rip the movies.
I'll use Plex home theatre on that computer.

I don't want to lose any of the sound quality (DTS, Atmos, etc) and this is where I get confused.

I was going to buy a WD-TV, but (from what I've read) it won't handle DTS.

I've read that the Samsung UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray player can do it all ..... is this the best option?

Not sure if you can run the Plex client on this player.

Does Plex need to transcode to this player?

I've probably got some of this stuff wrong, but It's fun learning about it all. Any help would really be appreciated.

Michael

Edited by RA-Bowtie
Made a mistake

Hi RA,

Sounds like a fun project. There's a big thread here about New to NAS so you can check that out. The two big players in NAS are QNAP or Synology. They're pricey but work well.One main benefit i you need a PC to do your ripping and transferring to the NAS but after that you can turn off the PC and just leave the NAS running 24/7 and using almost no power. Some comments:

1) I know QNAP so I'll stick to commenting on them, but Synology NAS is pretty similar in functionality.

2) A 100% quality bluray rip (video and sound) is about 30Gb each. But I assume you're going with the 95% quality video rip which should be about 6Gb each (sound is 100%) - Use this to get a vague idea of the amount of NAS storage you'll need.