Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
orestes

Mpeg4/h.264 Changeover

13 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

I'm in need of some recommendations for a set top box MY Phillips 47pfl7403d/27 is still going strong and after spending $2500 when it was new, and without any real idea of when 4K is coming to Australian TV I have no need to upgrade what is an overall awesome TV with 120hz/3ms response rate.

I do need a H/2.64 converter though because my TV has no idea what that is, are there any decent non-Chinese set top boxes that aren't horrible? I used a set top box back in the day with my 32" widescreen flatscareen CRT, and it was horrible. I'm just trying to solve the H2.64 integration.

My TV literally has 2000hours on it, I have no need to upgrade yet.

Hi,

Do you want to record? If so, how many channels at once?

Topfield or Beyonwiz, if the answers to the above is "yes" & "lots".

There are others, but I've no personal experience.

Cheapest of the above would be a BW T2 Barebones @ $199 (+ $15 postage) for a Refurb. unit, when they have them. You can always put a HDD (2.5") in later if you want to record.

dRdoS7

non-Chinese set top boxes

What's wrong with a Chinese made STB? :blink:

It's just a HD STB, pretty stock standard device now. Almost all electronic devices have all/some parts made in China.

What's horrible... the build quality, remote, or the actual picture quality?

PQ will be pretty standard across all brands of HD STB's now and they're cheap as.

http://cplonline.com.au/laser-set-top-box-hd-pvr-hdmimedia-6000.html

Maybe the original one you had with your 32" CRT was a DGTEC... or better known here as a footy? :D There were many STB's back then that were very buggy.

JSmith :ninja:

I have two Audiosonic $30 STBs with HDMI leads to connect to the TV. I have plugged in a 32 GByte thumb drive if I want to record. They both work fine. You might find them in Kmart.