All Activity

This stream auto-updates   

  1. Today
  2. The player wont let you feed it a thumbstick with 1009 Bernie ? Maybe they are erring on the side of caution in case of bricking it . http://www.samsung.com/au/support/model/UBD-K8500/XY/
  3. I can't see how moving the speakers slightly inward is going to remove the 35-40Hz hump.
  4. ^ haha i have to agree though
  5. Man up. Tell her the floor standing speakers stay. No further discussion required.
  6. If you have no flexibility to position the speakers to optimise the sound, you're better off employing a speaker with a sealed enclosure, rather than a ported enclosure speaker like the Paradigm. Not being able to move those speakers from where they are in that installation is the biggest impediment to improving the sound. I have used Velodyne SMS1 in my installation before, and I like it very much. But the first step to control that 35Hz hump should be passive.
  7. good to hear onto uk one, however my point was the UHD has no banding and gets the atmos track as well though you'd have to get it form the us. I dont think still available here.
  8. Thanks for your advice Al. I understand what to do in terms of equalisation for the subs.
  9. commiserations... very sadly ...in ceilings wont replace floor standers ... look at some other brand e.g. krix in that case who sell the speakers individually. many brands do. dont have to buy in pairs
  10. i personally would bump up the sub vol...but then just trim the lower end i.e. the bottom freq of the sub so you end up with a reasonably smooth curve for a combined sub+mains response. rather than the lumpy response. and would likely be all id do.... a simple sub eq device. e.g. the anti mode for the subs I pointed to earlier would take care of this entirely... or even the much cheaper sms1. both tools will let you play to your hearts content full manual or full auto if you like. even if doesnt get you anywhere which i would be very supered if didnt. then no major loss they are quite inexpensive devices. with the measurements you have and what you have posted. I see no evidence to be mucking about. above sub freq and with anything bar the subs...
  11. I don't have any real scope to change speaker placements OR sub placements. I had a sound consultant indicate that he wouldn't do anything more with the room in terms of acoustic treatment, and said that the sound stage is very good with the S6's. So as you see I am interested in getting the utmost out of what I currently have. At present the bass sound is very deep and tight - the way I like it. Yes at present there is a peak at around 30-40Hz, and it is apparent at times, but is not in any way boomy or uncontrolled.
  12. I will shortly be commencing a new house build which will have an open lounge dining area measuring 7m x 4m. To keep she who must be obeyed happy I will have to replace my floor standing speakers with in-ceiling speakers. We will be wall mounting a 70" Smart TV and connecting it to our existing HK Receiver (AVR-355) with foxtel, blu-ray, turntable and CD component. I have seen on ebay a good price for new Yamaha NS-IC800 speakers with directional tweeters which I could use for front and rear but as these only come in pairs, what would any of you suggest I use as the Center speaker. Any suggestions?
  13. think about it mr c... playing with time i.e. time delays is needed when you locate the subs too far away from the mains or much closer. with them co-located ... as you have them sound no matter the freq... travels at the same speed ... speed of sound so there is no need for playing with time... and delaying anything. thats been my experinece with co location. with some eq systems particularly if just applied on certain freq they with all the processing involved will infact induce a massive delays and thats when you find you need to start using time delays. phase effects you will see typically around cross over points or where there is interaction. but again here given how your gear is co-located it will be I bet you so small there is didly squat the system will be doing with it. the main thing the eq system will do is pull down some peaks ... and get a pretty smooth response on the subs so they arent taking over ...which I can tell you something like the sms-1 at $350 will achieve and achieve superbly and the best bit is it doesnt actually induce delays as other heavy duty processing does. I know as I have measured it. sometimes less is more and with eq this is particularly the case. eq should be the last bastion... perhaps you are there. but I would suggest there are other things can do with location and room first. particularly given you have already been conducive in treatments in the room.
  14. No longer for sale
  15. Packing the corners with Ultratel might bring down that 35Hz hump and even out the response below 80Hz. I can assure you, without even listening to the room, that large objects such as cabinets between the main speakers screws with the stereo imaging. You will never see a high-end speaker manufacturer demo their speakers with any furniture objects between them, for this reason. But you say you don't buy it. You're just wrong on that.
  16. Can you please explain this.
  17. The >150 Hz stuff is not a major concern. I have an electric projection screen that comes down in front of the TV .. yes. Vicoustic SBE's panels in the corners ... there is nothing behind them but the SBE's (super bass extremes) have some depth to them. As for screwing up stereo imaging ... hmm well I am getting a very nice stereo stage already. I have had a number of people complement me on the sound, particularly the stereo image (a strength of the S6's), so I just don't buy what you are saying about the stereo image full stop. The S6 speakers are in a position so as to not interfere with the viewing of the sides of the screen.
  18. i can tell you this much running subs for 10+ years for 2ch. what you need on the sub side to tame them you can buy for $350...eg something like the velodyne sms-1 playing with phase will do 2 5ths of F all and playing will time wont achieve much if anything either wiht the subs co located with the mains as you have its really not necessary. move your sub closer to your main if you like. but you do not need phase or time delays ! with them located as they are and playing with freq beyond the sub range with eq. I personally would not recommend for 2ch. not unless you REALLY know what you are doing and really have the gear and knowledge to test your speakers and know what you want to achieve. better to achieve those with treatments than eq in my thinking. especially seeing you seem conducive to treatments in the room. all that said it looks like you have put a fair effort in the room and looking to gain the last ounces. get some local help acoustically I would suggest. rather than trying to get it wiht a piece of gear
  19. G'day, For the next 5 weeks we have Thursday Night matches, this means, on most occasions, there's only one Saturday afternoon match instead of two, it also means that Seven technically are allowed to have 4 games on FTA, but with Bye rounds, that gets reduced to three again. This week, it's 4 games for Victoria, Tasmania, Darwin, Western Australia, South Australia, NSW and ACT while there's 5 games for Queensland and a Massive 6 games for Regional N.T. Thursday Night: Geelong v Pt. Adelaide - First Bounce: 7:20pm AEST - 6:50pm ACST Played At: Simmonds Stadium, Geelong LIVE To: Tasmania including Hobart at 7pm on Southern Cross N.T. including Darwin at 6:30pm on Southern Cross Victoria including Melbourne at 7pm on Seven and Prime S.A. including Adelaide at 6:30pm on Seven and Southern Cross GTS/BKN W.A. including Perth at 5pm on 7mate A.C.T. and N.S.W. including Sydney at 7pm on 7mate Qld including Brisbane at 7pm on 7mate Nationwide at 7pm AEST on Fox Footy and HD (6:30pm ACST - 5pm AWST) Friday Night: Sydney v Hawthorn - First Bounce: 7:50pm AEST Played At: SCG, Sydney LIVE To: Tasmania including Hobart at 7:30pm on Southern Cross N.T. including Darwin at 7pm on Southern Cross Victoria including Melbourne at 7:30pm on Seven and Prime S.A. including Adelaide at 7pm on Seven and Southern Cross GTS/BKN W.A. including Perth at 5:30pm on 7mate A.C.T. and N.S.W. including Sydney at 7:30pm on 7mate Qld including Brisbane at 7:30pm on 7mate Nationwide at 7:30pm AEST on Fox Footy and HD (7pm ACST - 5:30pm AWST) Saturday: W. Bulldogs v St. Kilda - First Bounce: 1:45pm AEST Played At: Etihad Stadium, Melbourne LIVE To: Nationwide at 1:30pm AEST on Fox Footy and HD (1pm ACST - 11:30am AWST) Saturday: Melbourne v Gold Coast - First Bounce: 4:05pm ACST - 4:35pm AEST Played At: Traeger Park, Alice Springs LIVE To: Qld including Brisbane at 4:30pm on 7mate Regional N.T. at 4pm on 7mate Nationwide at 4:30pm AEST on Fox Footy and HD (4pm ACST - 2:30pm AWST) Saturday Night; Richmond v Essendon - First Bounce: 7:25pm AEST Played At: MCG, Melbourne LIVE To: Tasmania including Hobart at 7pm on Southern Cross N.T. including Darwin at 6:30pm on Southern Cross Victoria including Melbourne at 7pm on Seven and Prime A.C.T. and N.S.W. including Sydney at 7pm on 7mate Qld including Brisbane at 7:20pm on 7mate (after Demons v Suns match) Nationwide at 7pm AEST on Fox Footy and HD (6:30pm ACST - 5pm AWST) Saturday Night; Adelaide v Fremantle - First Bounce: 7:10pm ACST - 5:40pm AWST Played At: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide LIVE To: S.A. including Adelaide at 7pm on Seven and Southern Cross GTS/BKN W.A. including Perth at 5:30pm on 7mate Regional N.T. at 7pm on 7mate Nationwide at 7:30pm AEST on Fox Sports 3 and HD (7pm ACST - 5:30pm AWST) Sunday: Collingwood v Brisbane - First Bounce: 1:10pm AEST Played At: MCG, Melbourne LIVE To: Qld including Brisbane at 1pm on 7mate Nationwide at 1pm AEST on Fox Footy and HD (12:30pm ACST - 11am AWST) Sunday: Carlton v Nth. Melbourne - First Bounce: 3:20pm AEST Played At: Etihad Stadium, Melbourne LIVE To: Tasmania including Hobart at 3pm on Southern Cross N.T. including Darwin at 2:30pm on Southern Cross Victoria including Melbourne at 3pm on Seven and Prime S.A. including Adelaide at 2:30pm on Seven and Southern Cross GTS/BKN Nationwide at 3pm AEST on Fox Sports 3 and HD (2:30pm ACST - 1pm AWST) Sunday: West Coast v G.W. Sydney - First Bounce: 2:40pm AWST - 4:40pm AEST Played At: Domain Stadium, Perth LIVE To: W.A. including Perth at 2:30pm on Seven and GWN A.C.T. and N.S.W. including Sydney at 4:30pm on 7mate Nationwide at 4:30pm AEST on Fox Footy and HD (4pm ACST - 2:30pm AWST)
  20. What about the >150Hz stuff? Do you have an electric projection screen that comes down in-front of the TV? The obvious potential problem is the position of the main speakers and subs. If you don't have an electric projection screen put the main speakers where the subs are, but more forward with zero toe-in. Put the subs on the front wall but facing away from each other, you might need each sub a different distance from the side wall (i.e. one closer to the centreline than the other). If you have an electric projection screen, same same for the subs, but get the main speakers as close together without obstructing the screen. Start with zero toe-in and run the in-room response again. As much of those cabinets between the speakers have to go. They will be seriously screwing up your stereo imaging. I'm not seeing a room there that should require EQ for 2-ch music. Are those Vicoustic panels in the corners packed with ultratel (or similar) behind them, or is it empty space? I'm guessing empty space. Do you ever have more than 3 people in that room? If not remove the front row seats and bring the rear seats slightly forward. These changes should result in a much better sounding room. Edit: I see you've got a 115" Stewart electriscreen. Doesn't give you much option for the positioning of the main speakers, unless you're prepared to shift them for 2-ch music when the screen is up.
  21. Thanks, does S&M help adjust RGBCYM seperately? If not it will still likely give better results than the THX app and I will give it a go regardless. Thanks, Are
  22. Here are 2 photos showing the front of the room and the rear ... Frequency plot done in Excel and snipped into Word. The top curve is with the SVS subs in action and the lower curve is with NO subs. FreqPlot.docx
  23. The S&M 2nd edition is considered the most accurate test disc on the market. There are known level errors in some of the THX Optimizers on DVD and BD. Even the famed JPK Digital Video Essentials has some reported issues. I have used the THX Apple App and for what it is, it is not too bad. The point being, these patterns (including the App) are aimed at the basic 5 user controls (Brightness, Contrast, Colour/Hue and Sharpness) only. You simply need instrumentation to set the white balance. And I am cavx by the way. It seems that if I post via Tapatalk on my phone, I come up as cavx.
  24. I believe your first sentence sums up my hassles. The titles that give me most difficulty are:- Sully, Storks The mummy, (but not mummy returns or dragon emperor) & oblivion to name the worst offenders. I think my biggest mistake was to assume 1010 firmware might fix it, but I think it may have made it worse. and there is no way the machine will let me go back to 1009 firmware.
  25. Have the following Blu-Ray movies for sale - Opened, watched once, excellent condition. PRICE INCLUDES DELIVERY Wild Horses - $6 Love & Friendship - $7 The Zero Theorem - $7 Savannah - $8 Testament Of Youth - $8
  26. Except I don't buy that. Major cashed up ISPs such as Telstra and Optus are getting severe performance hits due to congestion. They can buy more bandwidth on a daily basis based on congestion reports. Simple mechanism. I just don't believe Optus etc. are saying they'll let 100's / 1000's of customers suffer on not just poor but actually unusable connections. Ultimately these businesses are about providing a service for $. Choosing to providing no service when you could just make a bit less profit and provide some service seems an unlikely business decision. 0.02 Peter Gillespie
  1. Load more activity