Jump to content


Photo

How To Create A Firmware Cd


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 AndrewW

AndrewW

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 14,237 posts

Posted 01 February 2008 - 08:13 PM

I've seen quite a few people having a problem with creating a valid Firmware upgrade CD for their HD DVD players from an .iso file.

The problem stems from people burning the .iso file directly onto the cd as a data disc.

Here are the foolproof instructions for making a Firmware upgrade CD using nero.

Start Nero
Hit Cancel on the "new compilation" dialogue
Choose Recorder->Burn Image... from the menu
Select the .iso file
Hit "Open"
A new compilation will open.
Check the check box next to "Finalize CD"
Select the slowest burning speed.
Click on "Burn"

Voila, you should have a fully functional Firmware upgrade CD.

#2 JoshH

JoshH

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,232 posts

Posted 01 February 2008 - 08:21 PM

I've seen quite a few people having a problem with creating a valid Firmware upgrade CD for their HD DVD players from an .iso file.

The problem stems from people burning the .iso file directly onto the cd as a data disc.

Here are the foolproof instructions for making a Firmware upgrade CD using nero.

Start Nero
Hit Cancel on the "new compilation" dialogue
Choose Recorder->Burn Image... from the menu
Select the .iso file
Hit "Open"
A new compilation will open.
Check the check box next to "Finalize CD"
Select the slowest burning speed.
Click on "Burn"

Voila, you should have a fully functional Firmware upgrade CD.


If you dont have Nero - and are running VISTA - here is a free app to do the same thing
http://isorecorder.a...isorecorder.htm
Just right click the desktop ISO and select 'Copy Image to CD'.

This is a great little app as its free of frills and spyware and acilliary crap u dont need. Plus its free.

Edited by JoshH, 01 February 2008 - 08:24 PM.


#3 tonyjg

tonyjg

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 3,091 posts

Posted 08 February 2008 - 10:42 AM

FOR ROXIO USERS



http://kb.roxio.com/...eator/EE7000012



1. Open Creator Classic
-- a. Double click on the "Roxio Easy Media Creator" icon on your desktop
-- b. Click on the "Creator Classic" icon under "Applications".
2. Select and Burn the ISO file
-- a. Put a blank disc into your CD or DVD Recorder
b. Locate and left click "File" in the upper left hand corner of window, then click on "Record Disc From Image..."
-- c. A "Burn from Disc Image File..." window will appear, go to the location on your hard drive where the image file is located. Left click on the image file to highlight it, then click the "Open" button
-- d. When the "Roxio Creator Classic - Burn Progress" window is displayed click on the "Burn" button to start burning the disc.


hope this is correct - as this is what I've done (yet to test !)

#4 com5984

com5984

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,832 posts

Posted 08 February 2008 - 10:49 AM

This freeware program has never let me down and is simple to use

http://www.burnatonce.net/downloads/

#5 Trigg

Trigg

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,893 posts

Posted 08 February 2008 - 12:09 PM

and Mac has it's own software already loaded that allows buring of an image!

#6 hddvduser

hddvduser

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,143 posts

Posted 08 February 2008 - 01:39 PM

this should make some people happy

#7 #Darren

#Darren

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts

Posted 11 February 2008 - 11:16 PM

Can I confirm...

do we burn this to CD or DVD?

I'm burning the iso file to cd but my player says "this disk is not dvd format. Cannot play"

Edited by #Darren, 11 February 2008 - 11:59 PM.


#8 peterjcat

peterjcat

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 430 posts

Posted 12 February 2008 - 09:07 AM

Can I confirm...

do we burn this to CD or DVD?

I'm burning the iso file to cd but my player says "this disk is not dvd format. Cannot play"

Burn it to CD. The player just means it doesn't recognise the disc, which means the burn hasn't worked. Try again and make sure you're not just copying the .iso FILE to the CD but are burning the CD as an .iso IMAGE. (See rest of thread.)

#9 BronzElephant

BronzElephant

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 February 2008 - 10:12 PM

Thanks that was handy

#10 blairy

blairy

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,841 posts

Posted 21 February 2008 - 03:54 PM

And if you're using nero seven essentials, from the smartstart screen, select backup and "Burn Image to Disc" and pretty well follow the bouncing ball.

#11 DarrenW

DarrenW

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts

Posted 22 February 2008 - 04:23 PM

Iso-burner is another free app. thats small and easy to use.

Burnt both 2.7 and 2.8 firmware discs using this one, and no issues.............

http://www.ntfs.com/...burner_free.htm

Cheers,

Darren

#12 desi

desi

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 313 posts

Posted 04 March 2008 - 05:18 PM

and Mac has it's own software already loaded that allows buring of an image!

can u provide more information on this

i tried last sunday

drag the iso file into empty CD and burned it but it wont work on my EP-10

#13 sephlee

sephlee

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 March 2008 - 03:02 PM

can u provide more information on this

i tried last sunday

drag the iso file into empty CD and burned it but it wont work on my EP-10


I havent tried it myself but i think he's referring to Disk Utility. just type it into spotlight.

#14 step_andy

step_andy

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 52 posts

Posted 06 March 2008 - 08:34 PM

Burn it to CD. The player just means it doesn't recognise the disc, which means the burn hasn't worked. Try again and make sure you're not just copying the .iso FILE to the CD but are burning the CD as an .iso IMAGE. (See rest of thread.)

Same here.
I think there is a problem with the iso file.
On my Mac, Roxio Toast reports that it isn't a valid file.
Disk Utility reports that disk image has missing checksum.
Downloaded the zip file from Toshiba site twice. Extracted twice.
Same problem.
Is there an alternative source for the image file?

An update: I used Parallels to burn the iso file via VISTA on an external USB burner using Active ISO Burner freeware and it worked.
It seems that Macs just don't like the iso

Edited by step_andy, 06 March 2008 - 09:00 PM.


#15 Trigg

Trigg

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,893 posts

Posted 03 April 2008 - 05:57 PM

for Mac users -

http://docs.info.app...ml?artnum=93006

I habe burnt many succesful .iso files on my mac. You need to burn as an image!

Edited by Trigg, 03 April 2008 - 05:58 PM.


#16 minbinpin

minbinpin

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts

Posted 06 April 2008 - 09:13 AM

I found these updates quite sensitive.

Failed 6 times using a combination of roxio & poweriso on vista + toast on mac.
I had to go back to xp & nero to get a successful update disc.

Lesson learnt: keep trying, it's not the iso file. Also, use a cd-rw unless you're in need of a few coasters. ;)

#17 The_Snowman

The_Snowman

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 92 posts

Posted 07 April 2008 - 02:34 PM

Another FREE burner, even does Blu-ray, they say............

BurnAware Homesite

From Download.com

Any YAMAHA RX-V1800B owners in Australia installed the latest firmware from CD disc yet?

#18 citroenCX

citroenCX

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 04:21 AM

I've been using ImgBurn. It seems to handle any iso file. I even use it with DVD-DL discs. It is free, but they will accept donations.

ImgBurn

#19 neuty

neuty

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 650 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 04:40 AM

I've been using ImgBurn. It seems to handle any iso file. I even use it with DVD-DL discs. It is free, but they will accept donations.

ImgBurn

+1

neuty

#20 tazjunky

tazjunky

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 16 posts

Posted 23 May 2008 - 09:08 PM

iv tried now with numerous discs, different write speeds to no avail. has anyone ever upgraded the firmware via the USB slots?#

#21 AndrewW

AndrewW

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 14,237 posts

Posted 23 May 2008 - 10:14 PM

has anyone ever upgraded the firmware via the USB slots?#


I don't believe that is possible, or we'd all be doing it ...

#22 stew181

stew181

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts

Posted 20 August 2008 - 03:04 AM

is it naughty to burn the image to a dvd-r? i don't have any cdr-s.

#23 AndrewW

AndrewW

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 14,237 posts

Posted 20 August 2008 - 11:16 AM

is it naughty to burn the image to a dvd-r? i don't have any cdr-s.


that won't work, it will need to be burnt to a cd.

#24 stew181

stew181

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts

Posted 20 August 2008 - 12:11 PM

that won't work, it will need to be burnt to a cd.



cheers

#25 venny59

venny59

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 111 posts

Posted 17 February 2009 - 06:37 PM

The other thing I found with the Hd dvd Recorders the Disc needed to be a CD-RW not a normal Cd as none of my players
would pick up the normal Cd only the Cd-RW ??

v59