Jump to content


Photo

Indoor Antennas For Digital Tv


  • Please log in to reply
251 replies to this topic

#1 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,560 posts

Posted 26 March 2006 - 10:29 AM

This post has been removed by the author and saved by him

Edited by alanh, 25 March 2013 - 11:53 AM.


#2 LMagic007

LMagic007

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 16 posts

Posted 29 May 2006 - 03:23 PM

What's the best indoor antenna for HD digital signals ? in the Pakenham Victoria region ? I want to try this more simple approach first, before going into the Mr Antenna scenario and getting external antenna installation approval from the building management etc....

Thanks
:blink:

#3 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,560 posts

Posted 29 May 2006 - 07:14 PM

LMagic007,
It does not matter whether it is HD or SD the both signals are combined into a single signal on the channel shown in the Geographic Viewers' Forum shown below.

AlanH

#4 LMagic007

LMagic007

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 16 posts

Posted 30 May 2006 - 10:57 AM

Which region would Pakenham Victoria be in ? I'm not sure what one to select. It's near Berwick I guess.

#5 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,560 posts

Posted 30 May 2006 - 07:20 PM

LMagic007,
Please put location specific posts in their Geographic Forums and keep this post for general detail on Indoor antennas.

AlanH

#6 davidok1

davidok1

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 June 2006 - 10:33 PM

I don't fully understand this with all this technical talk. But I have these antennas.

http://www.dse.com.a...duct/View/L0114

I get some fuzz on SBS, channels 7,9 and 10 are fine, channels 2 and 31 have severe distortion.

What does this mean ?

#7 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,560 posts

Posted 03 June 2006 - 09:06 PM

davidok1,
Please ask you question in the appropriate Geographic Viewers' forum with your town/suburb. I cannot answer otherwise. The Geographic Forums are near the bottom of the main forum home page.

AlanH

#8 creeping_death

creeping_death

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 June 2006 - 07:31 PM

for some strange reason, when im near the rabbit ears, quality is up at about 50% but when I move away the quality drops to about 35% wats going on there? strength stays the same at about 70% :blink:

#9 vortexau

vortexau

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 11 posts

Posted 18 June 2006 - 11:46 PM

for some strange reason, when im near the rabbit ears, quality is up at about 50% but when I move away the quality drops to about 35% wats going on there? strength stays the same at about 70% :blink:

If your antenna is between you and the transmitter; its possible that you are playing "reflector" duty!
Posted Image

If, instead, you are between the transmitter and your antenna- you'd be acting as a "director".

#10 mjstokesy

mjstokesy

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 61 posts

Posted 20 July 2006 - 03:19 PM

A good indoor antenna I use is one from Dick Smith. It has the rabbit ears but also a small UHF antenna built-in. If you wrap the cable from the base to the UHF antenna around the little pole then plug it in to the set top box, it seems to work well. I recieve the ABC at 91% and SBS at 95%, signal strength wise on my computer. Hope this manages to help someone.

#11 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,560 posts

Posted 20 July 2006 - 11:09 PM

mjstokesy,
Reception with indoor antennas depends on the strength of the signal around the antenna, the number and strength of reflections, the channel being received, the polarisation of the signal. This is why I wrote the pinned post. This is why a properly installed outside antenna is always better. In digital this means a more reliable signal.

AlanH

#12 MatthewP

MatthewP

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 28 posts

Posted 17 September 2006 - 06:27 AM

Does anyone have any success stories using only an indoor antenna.
After reading this topic I am tempted to give it a go as I receive fantastic analogue reception.
I backed off after I was told by an A/V salesman that it flatly would NOT work at all.
MattP

#13 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,560 posts

Posted 17 September 2006 - 09:20 AM

MatthewP,
It really depends on your exact location, including in the room. Also which real channels you wish to pick up.

Also if the channels you are trying to receive are in bands 4 and or 5 the indoor antenna which looks like a mini outdoor antenna are better.

AlanH

#14 sharlo

sharlo

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 September 2006 - 03:11 PM

Does anyone have any success stories using only an indoor antenna.
After reading this topic I am tempted to give it a go as I receive fantastic analogue reception.
I backed off after I was told by an A/V salesman that it flatly would NOT work at all.
MattP


I live in Wagga Wagga and had good results with a Tandy/Dick Smith indoor tv antenna with built-in amplifier. The transmitter is pretty close, but with the amp off the signal breaks up and/or drops out, however with the amp turned on the picture is excellent with no drop outs. This applies to the digital HD transmissions too.

So I am happy with digital tv reception with an indoor antenna but found I did need the amplifier turned on otherwise the drop outs are to annoying.

#15 Krishy_123

Krishy_123

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 24 posts

Posted 02 October 2006 - 03:52 PM

im looking to buy dtv100t for my PC... though my only option at the moment is to use an indoor antenna... are there any tips anybody would like to give?

I seem to have picked up that my rabbit ears will work best wen its horizontally presented and the length it is spread out has some effect too.

I am in the South of Brisbane...and we get ok analogue reception on our TV's, but as soon as the PC is on, the quality is dramatically effected... because I'll be getting a PC dtv tuner.. will my reception be always effected?

#16 gclark8

gclark8

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 02 October 2006 - 03:59 PM

This worked perfectly in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney:

http://www.users.big...nai/LP345HV.jpg

That is, until it fell of the back of a ute on the way to Auburn. :blink:

#17 dcristo

dcristo

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 October 2006 - 09:08 PM

im looking to buy dtv100t for my PC... though my only option at the moment is to use an indoor antenna... are there any tips anybody would like to give?

I seem to have picked up that my rabbit ears will work best wen its horizontally presented and the length it is spread out has some effect too.

I am in the South of Brisbane...and we get ok analogue reception on our TV's, but as soon as the PC is on, the quality is dramatically effected... because I'll be getting a PC dtv tuner.. will my reception be always effected?


I just installed this same card mate and had the same concerns. My guess would be that if you are getting good reception with your analogue reception TV you should be ok.

I just moved into a unit which had no wall socket for an outdoor antenna, so just bit the bullet and purchased a $15 indoor antenna from Dick Smith. So far, so good. I am in a good reception inner west suburb of Sydney so that probably has something to do with it. The only main digital channel I have problems picking up is Channel 7. I am sure if I fiddled with the antenna I could get that sorted. The current setup is to have the rabbit ears fully extended horizontally.

If you are wanting to watch the HD channels and not SD, then you would want a pretty good PC for it. I noticed the HD channels use alot of the computer resources. This is on a AMD 2200 MHz PC with 1MB RAM.

I am still yet to figure out if the remote which came included is faulty or I ain't pressing the right buttons, it just ain't working for me.

All in all, definately worth the $75 bucks I spent on the TV tuner card.

Edited by dcristo, 02 October 2006 - 09:11 PM.


#18 Krishy_123

Krishy_123

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 24 posts

Posted 03 October 2006 - 12:42 PM

lol is the chrismas tree looking thing the antenna? lol.. nice way to hide it.

so i bought the card.. tried 3 different antenna's... and all i am able to get is a whole bunch of SBS channels... and still they are a bit choppy.

Tried old school rod with the twirl going along it... no reception wat so ever.

Tried normal rabbit ears... spread out like every1 suggested... it was quite choppy...

Tried another rabbit ears.. but this one has a mini style roof antenna in the middle of it.. and that gave me the least choppy reception. I may be able to get it running ok with this antenna but i may need an extension cable so that i can place the antenna well away from the PC.

Ill nut it out and post my results.

#19 gclark8

gclark8

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 03 October 2006 - 02:14 PM

Yes, they strung the crissy lights over the aerial, a Fracarro LP345HV, opens up some possibilities.. :blink: rather than one (dipole) pair of rabbit ears, have 13 of them.

#20 Krishy_123

Krishy_123

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 24 posts

Posted 03 October 2006 - 03:54 PM

ok so sbs seems to work without being that choppy... but i still cannot pickup any other channels at all... ie 7,9,10...

is there something i am missing or is this because i have poor reception?... usually in my house SBS has the worst reception... 7 and 10 have the best and 9 is somewhere in between.

Any ideas?

#21 daro

daro

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 164 posts

Posted 03 October 2006 - 07:25 PM

I'm using a JTC FUAL UHF phased array on a adjustable pole used for putting in a cupboard for hanging clothes on. I have the pole between a speaker & the ceiling with the antenna hooked into a splitter amp feeding the TV card in my PC.

#22 w3dge

w3dge

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 October 2006 - 05:18 PM

So i've got a basic dick smith style antenna which takes power and has the rabbit ears and a big dish, it gets channels fine on my dodgy teac STB provided you position the antenna for each channel.

I have two questions about indoor antennas.

1) i've noticed, if a mobile phone is in use, regardless of channel or position, the TV is unusable, will this occur with every indoor antenna?

2) if money was almost no object, but i couldn't go outdoor and i couldn't touch the interior walls with anything other than 3M sticky hooks, what is the best way of getting tv reception?

#23 beeblebrox

beeblebrox

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,557 posts

Posted 09 October 2006 - 10:10 PM

2) if money was almost no object, but i couldn't go outdoor and i couldn't touch the interior walls with anything other than 3M sticky hooks, what is the best way of getting tv reception?

The Winradio AX31-B, they sell for around $250

#24 w3dge

w3dge

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 October 2006 - 05:50 PM

Say i bought one, if i orientated this correctly, would this thing be set and forget?

and do you know who sells them in Australia, preferably canberra?

#25 bellotv

bellotv

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,631 posts

Posted 10 October 2006 - 07:20 PM

You could hang any suitable external antenna via string and sticky hooks from the roof if you want.A pain to position right but a Fraccaro LP345 is haeps cheaper at around $70 than the win radio version.