Jump to content


Photo

26Km From The Transmitter, Is Indoor Antenna Competent?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 arst

arst

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 09:56 AM

Checked form http://myswitch.digitalready.gov.au/

I live in Capalaba QLD and I got such result:

 

Distance

26.3 km

 

Bearing

287.6 °

 

Strength

good

 

 

I wonder does it mean a indoor antenna will be competent for me?

Thinking of geting an antenna but found many of them, like below:

http://www.dicksmith...nna-dsau-cn3405

http://www.bunnings....ntenna_p4360386

http://www.ebay.com....sd=130928252818

 

whereas prices are big different. Can you guys give me some advice? Is the db value bigger the better?

 

Thanks.


Edited by arst, 15 April 2015 - 09:56 AM.


#2 pgdownload

pgdownload

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 11,951 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 10:17 AM

 

For use in prime signal reception areas
Perhaps

 

Recommended for medium to strong signal areas
Perhaps

 

KU Band Satellite Dish
Definitely Nope.
 
There's a chance the dicksmith / bunnings type will work. Digital reception and picture quality is generally 100% or 0% (it doesn't degrade slowly as you get further away).
 
No one will be able to tell you if it will work just by looking at the specs or a website. Only way to try is to plug one in at home and see (or get an antenna guy out to test reception). If you go into the Dick Smith store and explain they may well let you try one out. Bunnings will definitely let you return it for no reason for a store credit.
 
Regards
 
Peter Gillespie

Edited by pgdownload, 15 April 2015 - 10:18 AM.


#3 arst

arst

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 11:30 AM

Thanks..I will get one from Bunnings, and make sure I can return it if not working.



#4 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,768 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 12:17 PM

arst,

Make the rods of the rabbit's ears horizontal and extend equally. The total length tip to tip should be 740 mm. Rotate the antenna so that it is at right angles to a line between it and Mt Cooth-tha as a starting point.  Putting the antenna closest to a window particularly on the west or south will also help.

 

I should add that the loop is only used for channel "31" which will stop transmitting at the end of the year according to the Minister for Communications. As a result you only need an antenna consisting of the rods only. http://www.dicksmith...enna-dsau-l4011 is much cheaper but may not get ch31

 

Alanh


Edited by alanh, 15 April 2015 - 12:38 PM.


#5 jsmith

jsmith

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 6,194 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 01:27 PM

Checked form http://myswitch.digitalready.gov.au/

I live in Capalaba QLD and I got such result:

 

 

I wonder does it mean a indoor antenna will be competent for me?

Thinking of geting an antenna but found many of them, like below:

http://www.dicksmith...nna-dsau-cn3405

http://www.bunnings....ntenna_p4360386

http://www.ebay.com....sd=130928252818

 

whereas prices are big different. Can you guys give me some advice? Is the db value bigger the better?

 

Thanks.

 

Indoor can be a bit tricky, as even if you are in a strong reception area, many other factors can affect it from vehicles driving past to the neighbours using certain devices.

 

If the reception area is strong then you won't probably require amplification of the signal or minimal. Some you have posted have a large dB gain available, however unless it is adjustable then higher can sometimes be worse...

 

I have had good experiences with this cheapo from DSE/Tandy. It works like rabbit ears but also has a low level signal amplifier if required... Oh and the DSE branded one is the same device. ;)

 

http://www.dicksmith...enna-dsau-l4075

 

http://www.dicksmith...ack-dsau-l40761

 

Good luck,

 

JSmith :ninja:


Edited by jsmith, 15 April 2015 - 01:30 PM.


#6 MLXXX

MLXXX

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 5,520 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 05:14 PM

[Advertising post, immediately above, reported for consideration by the moderators.] Edit: the post has been removed.
 

Rotate the antenna so that it is at right angles to a line between it and Mt Cooth-tha as a starting point.  Putting the antenna closest to a window particularly on the west or south will also help.

Alanh, I don't like to correct continually but you have the greatest capacity of any poster I have seen on any forum to make mistakes! You should really try harder to avoid error.

Capalaba is ESE of Mt Coot-tha. Accordingly a south facing window would not be particularly helpful for the original poster to use. A north facing window would obviously be better to try than a south facing window.

I must say I have doubts the OP will succeed with an indoor antenna unless there is line of sight to Mt Coot-tha.


Edited by MLXXX, Yesterday, 05:55 PM.


#7 steveb

steveb

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 509 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 10:30 PM

No. Indoor antennas are not recommended at all.



#8 arst

arst

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 10:56 PM

arst,

Make the rods of the rabbit's ears horizontal and extend equally. The total length tip to tip should be 740 mm. Rotate the antenna so that it is at right angles to a line between it and Mt Cooth-tha as a starting point.  Putting the antenna closest to a window particularly on the west or south will also help.

 

I should add that the loop is only used for channel "31" which will stop transmitting at the end of the year according to the Minister for Communications. As a result you only need an antenna consisting of the rods only. http://www.dicksmith...enna-dsau-l4011 is much cheaper but may not get ch31

 

Alanh

 

Thanks for your tutoring. I was able to get 25 channels.

11154235_10203915240349134_227547110_o.j

 

But, unfortunately it only works if I put it near the window in the sitting room. In my room, I can only get a 31 Digital channel. There are only 2 windows in my room, one faces to South another faces to East. While sitting room has the a window which faces to West.

 

I expected to receive at least dozens of channels from my room, turns out I am navie. In spite of that, it proved that in this house I can receive channels if the antenna is set up in place.

 

I will return the antenna to Bunnings and probably will buy a Coxial cable like this:

http://www.bunnings....aptor-_p4362482

 

Because there are 2 TV wall sockets in the house. One is in sitting room, another is in master room. I think I would need to run the cable from master room rather from sitting room as it is shorter, about 7 meters. I wasn't willing to do this as I worry the the cable might stumble housemates...

 

I wonder will the distance attenuates the signal? Should I get an amplifier?


Edited by arst, 15 April 2015 - 11:08 PM.


#9 MLXXX

MLXXX

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 5,520 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 11:24 PM

...

Because there are 2 TV wall sockets in the house. One is in sitting room, another is in master room. I think I would need to run the cable from master room rather from sitting room as it is shorter, about 7 meters. I wasn't willing to do this as I worry the the cable might stumble housemates...

 

I wonder will the distance attenuates the signal? Should I get an amplifier?

 

Arst,

I gather the house already has an external TV antenna. You are now planning on connecting to an existing wall socket with a length of coaxial cable you are about to purchase.

 

I wouldn't expect 7 metres of coax to attenuate the signal to a significant degree.



#10 arst

arst

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 12:37 AM

 

Arst,

I gather the house already has an external TV antenna. You are now planning on connecting to an existing wall socket with a length of coaxial cable you are about to purchase.

 

I wouldn't expect 7 metres of coax to attenuate the signal to a significant degree.

 

I have asked the landloard regarding the external TV antenna he said there is no antenna, whereas we can still watch 32 channels on the TV in the sitting room. It connects to wall socket. Sadly I only want to watch TV in my room as I don't want to bother other housemates. That's why I want to figure out how. Hopefully the coaxial cable will work as expect.

 

One other thing I am curious is will the DIY antenna work better than the one I bought from Bunnings...?


Edited by arst, 16 April 2015 - 01:34 AM.


#11 MLXXX

MLXXX

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 5,520 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 01:02 AM

Mmmn, perhaps there used to be an external antenna. Out at Capalaba (so far from the transmitters) it wouldn't be usual to try to get away with an antenna installed in the roof space.

 

It is amazing but one sometimes can get reception with coaxial cable running through the walls up into the roof space not connected to anything (e.g. a broken connection), but in these circumstances one usually cannot get all of the stations. So I am intrigued as to what your wall sockets are actually connected to...

 

Anyway a coaxial lead will indeed hopefully do the trick, given that the wall sockets appear to be working.

 

P.S. I consider amplified indoor antennas a last resort, to be avoided if possible. They can be temperamental, and can require adjustment when changing to a different station.



#12 arst

arst

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 01:58 AM

I just found an interesting thing..

http://www.marmitek....anywhere-58.php

 

This one seems to be able to transmit the signal throgutht the air without a cable...



#13 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,768 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 02:56 PM

Beware,

These devices are analog so cannot carry HD signals and the SD is of poorer quality.

You picture shows the rabbits ears v shaped which was an invention of cartoonists. The elements should be horizontal. The loop is probably picking up a set of translators at Crown Castle Site off Cliff Barons Road DARLINGTON RANGE This is why you can get pairs of networks.

 

Alanh



#14 MLXXX

MLXXX

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 5,520 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 03:34 PM

The loop is probably picking up a set of translators at Crown Castle Site off Cliff Barons Road DARLINGTON RANGE This is why you can get pairs of networks.

I note that the site alanh is referring to is some 60km from Capalaba and has an ERP of only 1.8kW.

Alanh, there are 33 digital services broadcast from Mt Coot-tha for reception by digital televisions, if the radio services are included in the count.

#15 rapturedigital

rapturedigital

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 03:37 PM

After reading various reply posts -

Indoor Antennas - Avoid unless near window facing Mt Cootha/City direction - I think west of Capalaba - they can be painful!!

Landlord - no antenna - Strange seeing that TV works in other room. True!! Signal can be picked up by cable in walls, especially poor quality cable but normally you would see picture breakup due to poor RF quality reception & also your distance from Mt Cootha. My guess, if the TV picture connected to the wall is stable, then there is likely to be an antenna in the roof space. Got a ladder - have a look!

Item from Marmitek - Looks like AV sender with Analogue tuner - Analogue tuners don't work in Australia anymore for receiving Digital TV. AV sender/receiver - you will still need a Digital Set Top Box in another room connected to an antenna for this to work

 

Have you thought of phoning an Installer - they can come & assess your situation - usually free quote. You may find that it is may not cost much more to have a TV point put in your room, provided there is an antenna in the roof, than buying these other items.

As a side note: ceiling antennas aren't best practise for Digital TV but may work in your situation


Edited by rapturedigital, 16 April 2015 - 03:51 PM.


#16 jsmith

jsmith

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 6,194 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 05:12 PM

I just found an interesting thing..

http://www.marmitek....anywhere-58.php

 

This one seems to be able to transmit the signal throgutht the air without a cable...

 

Nah... as mentioned, analogue only.

 

Just try the one I posted for you mate... it's only $11.50.

 

As I said I have had good experiences with it in multiple locations.

 

http://www.dtvforum....t/#entry2012718

 

JSmith :ninja:



#17 arst

arst

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 11:21 PM

The coaxial cable is connected now, There are 26 channels, which is enough for me. 

 

Sometimes there are broken pictures, I guess this because we don't have an antenna...might talk to landlord to install one.


Edited by arst, Yesterday, 12:45 AM.


#18 MLXXX

MLXXX

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 5,520 posts

Posted Yesterday, 12:40 AM

Congratulations, arst. You have achieved a reasonable result, at low cost.