Jump to content


Photo

Wi-Fi Extenders


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 yorac

yorac

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 23,939 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 11:17 AM

Anyone got opinions, recommendations please.............

#2 petetherock

petetherock

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,959 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 12:01 PM

Keen to know too...
I want to know if it's possible for a wifi extended such as the "Dark Knight" by Asus, to allow the wifi signal to reach one floor below across the lobby.
Am getting an apartment for my folks in the same building a floor above.

Cheers

#3 yorac

yorac

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 23,939 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 12:07 PM

Cheers Pete, I've done a bit of research and it seems good ones are few and far between.

Also seems that in almost all cases the extenders lose about 50% straight away, so essentially it may not be worth the bother, we're in a rental and can if necessary relocate the modem, once we get some network cable installed.......

#4 petetherock

petetherock

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,959 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 12:24 PM

Been eying something like this:
http://www.amazon.co...ywords=asus 66u

#5 yorac

yorac

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 23,939 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 12:30 PM

Been eying something like this:
http://www.amazon.co...ywords=asus 66u


yes mate, gets some good reviews, can be picked up in Melbourne for around $200.00

#6 HomerJ

HomerJ

    AV Forums Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 746 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 02:40 PM

I tried two wifi extenders, one with 'fast lane' dedicated channel for streaming media but didn't get enough throughput for 1080p and DTS-HDMA without stutter. I tried a 500Mb/s power line plug too, but on different circuits so again failed the high stress test.

Ended up running a 50m CAT6 cable from my router at front of house where my NAS is to my HT room and now all perfect. I have a 5 way switch so the connection is shared by: Foxtel STB, Media Player, Oppo, Receiver and Smart TV.

My problem with wifi was the 20m signal need to go through 5 walls, two of them brick.

Edited by HomerJ, 22 February 2014 - 02:42 PM.


#7 Chopsus

Chopsus

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 13,490 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 09:00 PM

Been eying something like this:
http://www.amazon.co...ywords=asus 66u


See the OTHER thread ... Bought a DLink one for about $115 from CPL in Nottingham hill.

#8 mrol

mrol

    AV Forums Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 116 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 09:13 PM

WiFi extenders would be the last option considered.

1. See if relocating the existing WAP (probably a combined Modem/Router/WAP) can get the required coverage. Don't discount running cable and using a cheap 5-8 port switch if the current location was determined for wired devices.

2. Consider a new Modem/Router/WAP, as there are some newer ones with much better range than earlier models. Some have external antennas which can be replaced with better ones and these can be placed in better positions.

3. Your situation probably won't suit extenders which use power or coax or LAN cabling to get another area without overlapping coverage. These don't lose throughput like the WiFi extenders in the same coverage area.

Regards


#9 Chopsus

Chopsus

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 13,490 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 10:46 PM

Works fine for me as I didn't want to dig a trench to the garage.

#10 yorac

yorac

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 23,939 posts

Posted 23 February 2014 - 01:10 PM

Even though we're in a rental, own is happy for me to install network points, so probably the way I will go, thanks to everyone for their input............

#11 beejay76

beejay76

    AV Forums Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,616 posts

Posted 24 February 2014 - 06:24 PM

...Also seems that in almost all cases the extenders lose about 50% straight away, so essentially it may not be worth the bother, we're in a rental and can if necessary relocate the modem, once we get some network cable installed.......


Almost all, except one. Pakedge WAP-W7 operates in repeater mode at full rated throughput. Pakedge WAP-W3N and WAP-W6 will do a good job as well in repeater mode, but at half rated throughput.

#12 fawlty99

fawlty99

    AV Forums Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,904 posts

Posted 04 March 2014 - 02:23 PM

I got a asus rp-n53 recently. It's pretty good and also doubles as a wireless access point if you can get cable to it (which is definately a better option than using as a repeater). Another thing is that you can stream audio to it for output via a 3.5mm jack. You can control the audio using a PC or a smart-phone app. I did the latter recently for an outdoors party (connected to amp). The DACs aren't great but did the job. Digital passthrough would have been better.

Edited by fawlty99, 04 March 2014 - 02:23 PM.


#13 petetherock

petetherock

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,959 posts

Posted 04 March 2014 - 11:16 PM

Wonder if all those wifi signals are bad for our health...

#14 jsmith

jsmith

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 5,716 posts

Posted 05 March 2014 - 08:56 AM

Even though we're in a rental, own is happy for me to install network points, so probably the way I will go, thanks to everyone for their input............


Yorac,

Have you considered networking via the power points in your place? Good idea for rentals...

http://powerline.dlink.com.au/

http://www.dealsdire...v-mini-adapter/

JSmith :ninja:

#15 Chopsus

Chopsus

    AV Forums Member

  • Senior Member
  • 13,490 posts

Posted 05 March 2014 - 09:37 AM

Yorac,

Have you considered networking via the power points in your place? Good idea for rentals...

http://powerline.dlink.com.au/

http://www.dealsdire...v-mini-adapter/

JSmith :ninja:


Hopeless in my 80's built house

#16 mmu16

mmu16

    AV Forums Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 504 posts

Posted 06 March 2014 - 11:40 AM

Neil,

I have used a few wifi repeaters and found them to be unreliable at best. My personal preference is to use an 'ethernet over power' set up with wifi output. Mind you, actual speeds are no where near the advertised rates but connection reliability is very good (way better than wifi repeaters). There are dual band versions too.

Here's a cheapo one that's actually pretty decent. However you need to buy the pack (1 for the router to plug into and this being the receiver/wifi transmitter)

http://www.pccasegea...oAXg#googlebase