Jump to content


Photo

Get The Best Reception, Illawarra


  • Please log in to reply
191 replies to this topic

#176 Bodon

Bodon

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 May 2014 - 02:34 PM

GDay all.

Not sure if this is the correct area to post but as I live in Bomaderry NSW thought it might be alright.

I live in an area thats low with trees.  TV reception was never the best and have been on Austar / Foxtel for 12 years (box and card is old) and I have had enough of the bloody adds.  My aerial is old and I would gurantee it is not digtal.  My two Sony TVs picks up SBS..clear as.  Thats about it.  I want to ditch Foxtel and use the free to air.  I would like to have a go putting up an aerial but wouldnt have a clue on how to connect it what model etc and I dare say it would have to point in the correct direction.  How do I konw if digital even works ok etc. Cant get in the roof as I have had my hips replaced so Im after a reliable installer from the area.  Can someone advise me here.  Ta.  House was rennovated six years back and the electrician replaced the TV cable. 

Have a had a gander on the net and also came across VAST.  Would this be a better option?  Aint got much of a clue. Just want TV thats clear.  Thanks for your time.



#177 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,944 posts

Posted 25 May 2014 - 03:20 PM

Bodon,

Firstly goto http://myswitch.digitalready.gov.au/and type in your exact address to determine the signal strength. (Read notice and also click on transmitters available on the top right corner) If you have adequate signals you cannot get commercial stations from VAST.

You have 3 transmitter options

 

North Nowra Cambewarra Lookout Cambewarra Mountain via BOMADERRY Changing channels 28 July and this signal could well become stronger This needs a phased array antenna with its longest side horizontal.

 

Illawarra main transmitters at Robertson. Note that the ABC and SBS will be changing transmission channels on 11 June. This needs a phased array antenna with its longest side vertical.

 

Alanh



#178 Bodon

Bodon

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 May 2014 - 03:59 PM

GDay Alanh

Thanks for the quick response.  Had a gander and get a message after typing in my address: Reported reception issues in Nowra and Shoalhaven region.  Comes up with good coverage and my address shows Im located in a light green shaded area.  And as you mentioned 3 transmitters are available.

Not sure if you can help here..but If I get an installer 'they' will / may install a phased array antenna or do I tell them?  In your view is there a preferred make of aerial.

Appreciate your time.



#179 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,944 posts

Posted 25 May 2014 - 10:27 PM

Bodon,

Firstly, wait until after the retune on 28th July.

I suggest http://www.hillsante...08542_FLYER.pdf mounted as shown on the left and aimed at the Cambewarra Lookout.

Alternatively http://www.hillsante...B31123 IssB.pdf mounted for vertical polarisation, whilst it is cheaper is not as good. Its performance is similar to the WisI Phased array being sold by a number of importers.

The installer should measure the signal level received to determine if a UHF masthead amplifier is required. If so then the amplifier should contain an LTE filter http://www.kingray.n...edge_series.pdf (The MHU series)

You probably need also to replace the cable and the new cable should be Quad shield RG6 cable (the standard for DTV)

 

Some electricians know nothing of TV antenna installation.

 

There is no requirement for any training of antenna installers so I would specify one of the antennas above.

 

Alanh



#180 Bodon

Bodon

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 May 2014 - 09:53 PM

GDay Alanh

Mate, appreciate the heads up.  Information was very helpful and will be taking the advice.  Thankyou.



#181 Martyr82

Martyr82

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 02:40 PM

I have direct line of sight to Knights Hill transmission towers. This lists the following channels;

153432/New WIN tower KNIGHTS HILL
Service Network Owner Freq(MHz) Channel Polarisation Pat Licence No
CBN Prime 599.5 38 H DA 1158111
WIN WIN 585.5 36 H DA 1158069
CTC Southern Cross Austereo 592.5 37 H DA 1190913
 
153434/Broadcast Australia Digital Television Tower KNIGHTS HILL
Service Network Owner Freq(MHz) Channel Polarisation Pat Licence No
ABC ABC 578.5 35 H DA 1160423
SBS SBS 606.5 39 H DA 1160442

With a channel range of 35-39, I would need a dual band UHF Aerial? because the range includes channels from band 4 to band 5?


Edited by Martyr82, 07 August 2014 - 02:42 PM.


#182 Kylastar

Kylastar

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 December 2014 - 09:10 AM

Sorry if this question has already been addressed: I am having signal strength issues for Win TV, I live in Mollymook Beach. I have checked cabling and connection and installed a new aerial. The picture is pixelated. Will a mast head amplifyer rectify the problem?

 



#183 ------

------

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,891 posts

Posted 21 December 2014 - 04:52 PM

I am having signal strength issues for Win TV

 

By what means have you determined this?

 

Have you measured the signal, & if so, what readings have you obtained?



#184 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,944 posts

Posted 22 December 2014 - 10:42 AM

kylastar, 

Where are you getting your signal from? It should be Communications Stie, Little Forest Trig Milton and not Knights Hill where the main Illawarra transmitters are. It is around 13 km away.

You need a small phased array antenna mounted on its side for vertical polarisation. http://www.hillsante...15&ProductID=63 Look at the image and rotate it 90  degrees. Its bigger brother is shown in the position you need http://www.hillsante...t_subcat?cat=15 look at the image.

 

If you want to try your existing new aerial rotate it so that the short and long elements point towards the ground and point it to the north west. 

Pull the antenna cable from the receiver and do a channel rescan to remove all remembered signals. Plug in the antenna and rescan. You should get signals on channels 28 - 33.

 

Alanh



#185 Kylastar

Kylastar

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 December 2014 - 12:54 PM

 

By what means have you determined this?

 

Have you measured the signal, & if so, what readings have you obtained?

I haven't measured the signal strength. I have determined it based on that the picture Im getting e.g pixelated

 

By what method to you measure the signal??

 

thx



#186 Kylastar

Kylastar

    AV Forum Member

  • New Member
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 December 2014 - 12:56 PM

kylastar, 

Where are you getting your signal from? It should be Communications Stie, Little Forest Trig Milton and not Knights Hill where the main Illawarra transmitters are. It is around 13 km away.

You need a small phased array antenna mounted on its side for vertical polarisation. http://www.hillsante...15&ProductID=63 Look at the image and rotate it 90  degrees. Its bigger brother is shown in the position you need http://www.hillsante...t_subcat?cat=15 look at the image.

 

If you want to try your existing new aerial rotate it so that the short and long elements point towards the ground and point it to the north west. 

Pull the antenna cable from the receiver and do a channel rescan to remove all remembered signals. Plug in the antenna and rescan. You should get signals on channels 28 - 33.

 

Alanh

 

My aerial is pointed to the North East at the moment. I will have a go at your suggestions and see what I get. Thanks for you assistance.


Edited by Kylastar, 23 December 2014 - 12:56 PM.


#187 Obviousman

Obviousman

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 90 posts

Posted 05 August 2015 - 05:56 PM

Now this is something strange.

 

We have a couple of NEC flat screen HDTVs. A NLT-32HDB2 and a NLT-46HDB2. All of a sudden, both of them have an issue with the Prime / 7 signal. As soon as the TVs go to Prime, 7Two, 7Mate, etc, the channel change controls pretty much lock. We can't change channel, either via the remote or via the controls on the TV.

 

After numerous attempts of switching off, powering off & unplugging, I managed to get it to rescan for channels. At the end of the scan it defaults to SBS and full control is restored. Everything is fine until I go to one of the 7 channels then the problem returns.

 

It is the same for both TVs: all is normal unless you go to 7.

 

Any idea what might cause this?



#188 Digital Penetration

Digital Penetration

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts

Posted 05 August 2015 - 06:08 PM

It is the same for both TVs: all is normal unless you go to 7.

 

Any idea what might cause this?

 

7's recent change to transmitting mpeg4 for the racing and shopping channel? Perhaps your TV's hate it.



#189 ------

------

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,891 posts

Posted 05 August 2015 - 06:19 PM

Any idea what might cause this?

 

 

 

Your TVs are unable to cope with the recent changes made by Prime to incorporate the new racing channel.

 

 


How can I tell if my TV is MPEG4 compatible?

 

All major recognised brands of televisions, set top boxes and Personal Video Recorders (PVR’s) purchased since 2009, including any devices bearing the Freeview logo, will have this capability, but those bought prior to 2009 may not support MPEG4. Some old receivers which have not been compatible during the introduction of the MPEG4 service have included:-

 

Schaub Lorenz Televisions
Baumann Meyer Televisions
NEC and Sherwood (rebadged NEC) Televisions
Next Wave PVR’s

 

If you are unsure if your current TV supports MPEG4 you will need to refer to your TV manual or contact the manufacturer of your TV.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The only solution I am aware of is purchasing an outboard digital set top box to restore channel 7 functionality to the TV.

 

I use these, just be aware they do not come with anything other than a captive power cord, so you will need to factor in an appropriate connection cable for the TV with the set top box purchase.



#190 alanh

alanh

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 12,944 posts

Posted 06 August 2015 - 01:09 AM

NEC TV retail left Australia quite a while ago.

Go to one of the major chain stores and you can buy an Audiosonic Set top box/personal Video recorder for $29. The will receive all channels including MPEG-4. If the TVs have an HDMI connector which is basically rectangular, then buy a short HDMI cable at the same time. This will enable you to watch HD programs such as 7 Mate in HD quality. Otherwise connect with one of those yellow, red and white cables. You can also plug in a USB memory stick and record and play programs as well. Plug the antenna into the STB and not the TV.

 

Alanh 



#191 Ron12

Ron12

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

Posted 06 August 2015 - 07:16 PM

NEC Home Electronics Australia Pty Ltd are still in the yellow pages. http://www.yellowpag...36-listing.html

#192 ------

------

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,891 posts

Posted 06 August 2015 - 09:21 PM

NEC Home Electronics Australia Pty Ltd are still in the yellow pages. http://www.yellowpag...36-listing.html

 

"The number you have called is not connected. Please check the number before calling again."