• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 DJY

DJY

DTV Forums Member

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 196 posts

Posted 19 August 2003 - 08:03 PM

I'm only new to DTV (received my 5290 today!) but have been reading the old forums for some time...
Thought that this info from the old forums might be worthy of inclusion...
old post by steve.mercer

This is just a very quick run down:
Capital 10: Probably most content is 16:9 during peak viewing times. Picture quality is generally good and sound (usually MPEG encoded Dolby Prologic) is usually good.
Win: Most Sydney sourced stuff is 16:9 and generally good picture and sound (usually MPEG Prologic). HD rebroadcasts from Sydney are usually in postage stamp format, which is annoying. Locally produced material and studio production is 4:3 and pretty average picture quality.
Prime: Most is 4:3 with MPEG Prologic sound.
ABC: Most is now good quality 16:9 with AC (Dolby 5.1 sound) (but only tranmitting through two channels - front left/right). Also currently transmitting a comprehensive test pattern for DTV set up, an AC radio station, Fly TV and ABC Kids (the latter two are expected to cease on 30 June 2003).
SBS: Mainly 4:3, MPEG sound, but SBS commissioned productions are usually 16:9 and of excellent quality. Studio produced stuff is usually 4:3. SBS is now running a separate HD station, but this is just upconversted to 576p at the moment (eg no 'native' HD transmissions). SBS also has a world news station in 4:3 and a couple of radio stations.

but instead of posting it in the Archived thread, maybe we can update this as we notice things - so other new members who also are new to DTV (like me) can come into this [current] forum to see how much 16:9 versus 4:3 is being aired in Canberra!
Then all we have to do I guess is hassle and lobby it seems Prime, and SBS mostly but all channels to hurry up and air ALL shows in 16:9!

#2 braddles

braddles

DTV Forums Member

• 289 posts

Posted 21 August 2003 - 08:32 PM