Jump to content


Photo

Xe1 Error Messages


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 blairy

blairy

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,841 posts

Posted 08 March 2012 - 04:47 PM

There is a long story behind this, however short version is, I wound up playing my HD-DVD version of The Eagles Farewell I Tour this afternoon.

I get to Track Ten (In The City) and about ten seconds into the song it freezes...no sound and frozen picture on screen. Screen goes black and error message pops up.

Cannot play disc with a code 408bc509.

Any clues as to what this means; and yes I already worked out it means it won't play ;) ?

Eject disc and restart at same track; same problem and same message.

Eject disc and start at next track (track 11) and it plays fine.

Thanks

blairy

#2 oldaudiophile

oldaudiophile

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 265 posts

Posted 08 March 2012 - 07:13 PM

I'm pretty sure it's defective disc, I have about 6 that do the same thing.

http://www.hometheat...fective-hd-dvds

#3 blairy

blairy

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,841 posts

Posted 08 March 2012 - 08:24 PM

I'm pretty sure it's defective disc, I have about 6 that do the same thing.

http://www.hometheat...fective-hd-dvds


Thanks oldaudiophile. That thread is more than a little worrying.

blairy

#4 Skid_MacMarx

Skid_MacMarx

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 8,928 posts

Posted 09 March 2012 - 11:02 AM

From that thread, folk should check their older blu-ray titles as well.
Not much you can do if it has something to do with a "chemical process"

Because I'm a Hardware Dealer here in Vienna, I was able to put my hands on different copies of the same title - some worked perfectly, some not.

I fear, that the reason is a chemical prccess, which has reached different levels on different discs now...

http://www.hometheat...ds#post_3814331

I gather the Warner replacement program doesn't extend to outside the US (well thats if its still going)

I read sometime ago about issues with "glue" in relation to SACD hybrids (multiple layer SACDs).
Apparently this is why audiophiles/collectors prefer single-layer SACDs.

#5 SDL

SDL

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 10,652 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 01:52 PM

Just checking how many WB HD DVD's I have:

2001 A Space Odyssey
300
The Ant Bully
The assassination of Jesse James
Batman Begins
BladeRunner Collectors Edition
Blood Diamond
The Brave One
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
The Departed
Dog Day Afternoon
The Fountain
Full metal Jacket
Gods and generals
Good Night and Good Luck
Goodfellas
Harry Potter Years 1-5 Collection
I am Legend
In the Valley of Elah
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
Lady in the Water
The Last Samurai
The Matrix Collection 1-3
Michael Clayton
Oceans 11, 12 and 13
The Omega Man
The Perfect Storm
Planet Earth Series
The Polar Express
The Road warrior
The Shining
Superman returns
Swordfish
Terminator 3
The Corpse Bride
Training Day
Troy
Unforgiven
V for Vendetta
Wyatt Earp

so a few that I would be p'd off if they don't work. Takes away the want to collect movies to watch when you want if they can't guarantee they won't work for more than a couple of years.

#6 mr-happy-pants

mr-happy-pants

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 02:32 PM

G'day SDL

Same scenario here.

Maybe I should start considering storing to a HDD or some such technology for streaming, in case they fail!?

#7 ols

ols

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,206 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 03:50 PM

Got the error code when trying to watch Phantom of the Opera with the missus on the weekend.
Warner Brothers
Just tried again :no: :angry:

#8 ...

...

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 8,296 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 03:53 PM

While it's been a while since I fired up my XE1, I recall that giving the disc a really good clean often resloved this error message.......

#9 com5984

com5984

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 2,847 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 04:28 PM

While it's been a while since I fired up my XE1, I recall that giving the disc a really good clean often resloved this error message.......


Think I'll dig out my Xbox hddvd drive and rip mine to nas

#10 cwt

cwt

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 5,738 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 04:44 PM

G'day SDL

Same scenario here.

Maybe I should start considering storing to a HDD or some such technology for streaming, in case they fail!?


I used the free 21 day trial of anyhdvd Mr HP ;once the drm is eradicated clone dvd is popular from the same maker; same 21 day trial :) .

#11 ols

ols

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,206 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 05:43 PM

While it's been a while since I fired up my XE1, I recall that giving the disc a really good clean often resloved this error message.......


Will try that pete, thanks.
But hadn't played any discs for a while and seems to be more than a coincidence.
Just tried Harry Potter 5 and code got error code a couple of mins in <_<
Was just looking to get back into them as I possibly have got enough kids out of the house to get a projector based theatre room going.
If this is disc rot setting in it would be very dissapointing.

Warner Bros really did kill HD DVD :lol:

#12 rtlnath

rtlnath

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • 13 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 09:56 AM

My toshiba xe1 had been freezing on a few DVDs and a couple of HDDVDs (Bourne Ultimatum, Dreamgirls) so no longer wanted to risk relying solely on the player.

I got a Xbox 360 hddvd drive off ebay and have been using MakeMKV (Still free) to back them up. I only select the main movie and English soundtrack so most of the movies are between 15 and 20GB each. It is a lossless process too which i like.

It is such a shame to have these High definition discs and not be able to utilise them 'properly', but the MKV's played through the laptop look just as good. I really don't want to re-buy the movies on Blu-ray when, in most cases, I already paid for the same high definition version of the movie.

#13 SDL

SDL

    AV Forum Member

  • Senior Member
  • 10,652 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 11:08 AM

I don't have time to check 50 discs, and what is going to be the real issue is when you sit down to watch one to find it fails an hour or so into the movie. I might write to WB and ask why they have no replacement program here - but my other problem is some of mine are from the US some from UK and others here. also while the topisc seem to be about WB movies, not sure why it won't effect Paramount, Universal and others?

#14 mr-happy-pants

mr-happy-pants

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:39 PM

I used the free 21 day trial of anyhdvd Mr HP ;once the drm is eradicated clone dvd is popular from the same maker; same 21 day trial :) .


Thnaks cwt

#15 ols

ols

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,206 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 05:02 PM

I got a Xbox 360 hddvd drive off ebay and have been using MakeMKV (Still free) to back them up. I only select the main movie and English soundtrack so most of the movies are between 15 and 20GB each. It is a lossless process too which i like.


Thanks for that rtlnath.
Sounds like the solution for me too

Edited by ols, 15 March 2012 - 05:04 PM.


#16 blairy

blairy

    AV Forum Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,841 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 06:30 PM

....
I got a Xbox 360 hddvd drive off ebay...


I'm using one of these http://www.ebay.com....=item43ad99a735 and Clown BD to convert to ISO/BD files. These play on my Oppo or can be converted to MKV (or other format as you require).

blairy